GOD OUR HEALER

 

Yes, God heals. But what does that mean? And why is it important? As I’ve meditated on this I’m increasingly impressed with how vital God’s healing is, yes for our bodies but just as importantly for our spiritual well-being. Healing is about release from pain and limitations. It’s about return to full function. It’s about restoration to wholeness. To health. To well-being. As Healer, God seeks to bring us back into unobstructed union with the Divine.

 

GOD WANTS TO HEAL US

It’s important to know that God wants to heal. Longs for us to be whole. Heals so that we can be restored to true and full fellowship with God. The following scripture verses underscore God’s persistent, unrelenting desire to have us be whole and in relationship with him/her. God is proactive as Healer.

 

“I am the Lord who heals you.” (Jehovah-Ropheka = the Lord your Healer). Exodus 15:26   “See now that I, even I, am he; there is no god besides me……..I heal….” Deuteronomy 32:39   “…they did not know that I healed them.” Hosea 11:3 “I will seek the lost and bring back the strayed, and I will bind up the injured, and I will strengthen the weak…” Ezekiel 34:16a “I have seen their (willful) ways, but I will heal them; I will lead them and repay them with comfort…” Isaiah 57:18 “(God) binds up; …. his hands heal.” Job 5:18 “He took our infirmities and bore our diseases.” Matthew 8:17 “He himself bore our sins in his body on the cross, so that, free from sins, we might live for righteousness; by his wounds you have been healed.” 1 Peter 2:24 “He heals the brokenhearted, and binds up their wounds.” Psalm 147:3 “Jesus went throughout Galilee, teaching in their synagogues and proclaiming the good news of the kingdom and curing every disease and every sickness among the people.” Matthew 4:23 “Moved with pity, Jesus stretched out his hand and touched him, and said to him, ‘I do choose. Be made clean!’ Immediately the leprosy left him, and he was made clean. Mark 1:41-42

 

FAITH UNDERGIRDS HEALING

Next, it’s good to remember that faith accompanies healing. We need to reach out. To ask. To receive. We need to believe and accept God at work in our lives. To be complete, God’s work as Healer requires belief and acceptance on our part. True, some healing seems to occur without the recipient actually asking. Who, but God, knows the readiness of that person’s heart? As a gift offered is not complete until the intended receiver accepts it, so God’s gift of healing is not complete until we believe and make it our own. The following verses illustrate several stories of seeking healing, believing and being healed.

“O Lord my God, I cried to you for help, and you have healed me.” Psalm 30:2 “Jesus said to the leader of the synagogue (whose daughter was ‘dead’), “Do not fear, only believe.” Mark 5:36 “Then (Jesus) said to him (the tenth leper), ‘Get up and go on your way, your faith has made you well.’ “ Luke 17:19 “If my people who are called by my name humble themselves, pray, seek my face, and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin and heal their land.” 2 Chronicles 7:14 “Therefore confess your sins to one another, and pray for one another, so that you may be healed. The prayer of the righteous is powerful and effective.” James 5:16 “Wherever (Jesus) went, into villages or cities or farms, they laid the sick in the marketplaces, and begged him that they might touch even the fringe of his cloak; and all who touched it were healed.” Mark 6:56 “Heal me, O Lord, and I shall be healed; save me, and I shall be saved…” Jeremiah 17:14 “Jesus said…‘Take heart, daughter, your faith has made you well.’ And instantly the woman was made well.” Matthew 9:22 “Come, let us return to the Lord; for…he will heal us;….he will bind us up.” Hosea 6:1 “Daughter, your faith has made you well, go in peace, and be healed of your disease.” Mark 5:34

 

GOD’S HEALING RESTORES WHOLENESS

Finally, the result of healing is to be made whole. To be set free. To know the joy and peace of physical and spiritual renewal and well-being. To have union with God and fellowship fully restored. Surely our response after this should be thanksgiving and praise to God our Healer. Consider the following stories.

 

“I will bring health and healing…I will heal my people and will let them enjoy abundant peace and security.” Jeremiah 33:6 NIV “Jesus….said…’Those who are well have no need of a physician, but those who are sick;   I have come to call not the righteous but sinners.’ ” Mark 2:17 “…God anointed Jesus of Nazareth with the Holy Spirit and with power;…he went about doing good and healing all who were oppressed by the devil, for God was with him.” Acts 10:38 “Surely he has borne our infirmities and carried our diseases…..he was wounded for our transgressions, crushed for our iniquities; upon him was the punishment that made us whole, and by his bruises we are healed.” Isaiah 53:4a, 5 “I will heal their disloyalty; I will love them freely….” Hosea 14:4 “For I will restore health to you, and your wounds I will heal, says the Lord.” Jeremiah 30:17a

 

“Bless the Lord, O my soul, and do not forget all his benefits – who forgives all your iniquity, who heals all your diseases…” Psalm 103:2,3   “So (Naaman) went down and immersed himself seven times in the Jordan…his flesh was restored…and he was clean….Then he said, ‘Now I know that there is no God in all the earth except in Israel; please accept a present…your servant will no longer offer burnt offering or sacrifice to any god except the Lord.’” 2 Kings 5:14-17   “…ten lepers…were made clean….one turned back, praising God with a loud voice. He prostrated himself at Jesus’ feet and thanked him…Jesus asked, ‘…the other nine, where are they? Was none of them found to return and give praise to God except this foreigner?’ “Luke 17:14-19 “When Jesus saw her, he called her over and said, ‘Woman, you are set free from your ailment.’ When he laid his hands on her, immediately she stood up straight and began praising God.” Luke 13:12,13

 

 

…Have you prayed for healing and thought your prayer was not answered? What might be going on that makes it feel that way?

…How do you know when God has healed you? What has your experience been?

…After healing, in what ways do you integrate thanksgiving and praise into your life?

 

 

We thank and praise you, Healer God, for pursuing us so that we might know healing, wholeness and full intimacy with you.

 

 

Hi, I’m Bobbie and am what some would call seasoned. Now in my early eighties I look back on a life full of experiences through which God has shaped and refined me – still a work-in-progress – and for which I’m so very grateful. My first husband and I raised three daughters and both of us worked full time. Following his death from leukemia, God gave me another good man to partner with. Our combined families now delight us with 17 grandchildren. Our church’s prayer ministry is my passion. I also enjoy reading, journaling, long walks, jig-saw puzzles and knitting prayer shawls. I’ve known Janet and treasured her friendship for close to 35 years and am honored to share on her blog.

 

c Barbara Spradley, 2015, All Rights Reserved

 

