Christmas: Words and Voices

I sang in a choir this Christmas for the first time in years. I wanted to sing praise to God out of gratitude for God’s presence in my life. After our worship concert last weekend I could hardly speak for all that moved within me from the experience.

I would like to share with you just two of the most precious of my memories–for whatever gift they may be for you.

The first is the words to one of the most beautiful songs I’ve ever heard:

For Him All Stars Have Shone

He is so small the stars bow down

The fierce winds ease their breath,

And careful shepherds look upon

the one unsullied birth.

They kneel and stare while time seems gone

and goodness rules the earth.

The blight on man is all undone,

And there will be no death,

For though this child will be nailed on a cross,

he’ll be so since he is the jewel of untold worth.

For him all stars have shone.

Bob Chilcott, sung by the Colonial Chorale

Oba Ti De: Here Comes the King

The second gift is a recording of a song we sang that not only stunned the audience but the choir as well. This recording is of a different choir, but the feeling is the same. I felt like we were angels singing to the skies. It is an African song, in two African languages, and it is translated as Here Comes The King. I’m including the link to youtube. It’s about 4 minutes long and well worth it.

Jeffrey Ames, sung by the Choral Union.

What moves you about these words, this music?
How does it speak to you of Christmas?
